Budget Search
Board of Supervisors
Adopted Expenditures
By Program 2017-18 Adopted Change from 2016-17 Adopted
First District
Second District
Third District
Fourth District
Fifth District
Board Support
Total Department
Mission Statement

Provide quality public services to the people of Santa Barbara County in response to their need for a safe, healthy, and sustainable environment; and to establish and maintain a workforce which reflects the diversity of the community.

About the Department

A five-member Board of Supervisors governs County services for a population of approximately 436,000 residents.  Each board member is elected for a four-year term and represents a geographic district.  The position of Chairperson is elected annually among the five members.  The Board generally convenes in regular session on three Tuesdays each month.  Two of these meetings are held in Santa Barbara and one in Santa Maria.  The Board sets policy for County departments, oversees a budget of over $1.0 billion and adopts ordinances on local matters, as well as land use policies that affect unincorporated areas (areas outside of cities).


The first supervisorial district includes the City of Carpinteria, portions of the City of Santa Barbara, and the unincorporated areas of Carpinteria Valley, Summerland, Montecito, Mission Canyon, and the Cuyama Valley.


The second supervisorial district includes the unincorporated areas of the eastern Goleta Valley (and its foothills), and over ½ of the City of Goleta, including Goleta Old Town, portions of the City of Santa Barbara, and the Channel Islands.


The third supervisorial district includes the cities of Solvang, Buellton, Guadalupe, and a portion of the City of Goleta, as well as the unincorporated areas of the western Goleta Valley, the community of Isla Vista, the University of California at Santa Barbara, the Gaviota Coast, Vandenberg Air Force Base, the Santa Ynez, Lompoc and Los Alamos Valleys, and the communities of Santa Ynez, Ballard, Los Olivos, Los Alamos, Mission Hills, Mesa Oaks, Vandenberg Village, Tanglewood, and Casmalia.


The fourth supervisorial district includes the City of Lompoc, the southwest portion of Los Alamos, the unincorporated community of Orcutt, and portions of the Santa Maria Valley.


The fifth supervisorial district includes the rural areas of Garey, Sisquoc, and Tepusquet, as well as the City of Santa Maria. 


As a part of the FY 2017-18 budget reductions the Board of Supervisors has reduced their Board General budget by twenty four percent.  Board General is a program within the General County Programs budget.

Related Links